Self-isolation for all travellers returning from six African countries

All travellers returning from six African countries must self-isolate

ALL travellers returning to Scotland from South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Eswatini, Zimbabwe and Botswana will be required to self-isolate and take two PCR tests from 12:00 today (Friday 26 November), regardless of their vaccination status.

Managed Quarantine accommodation will be stood up to cater for any arrivals from these countries. This will apply to all arrivals from 04:00 on Saturday (27 November).

The decision follows concerns about cases of the emerging B.1.1.529 variant cases in the south of Africa, given concerns over a high number of mutations and the effectiveness of vaccines against it.

Anyone who has arrived in Scotland from any of the six countries in the previous 10 days will need to enter Managed Quarantine hotel on arrival to Scotland and will need a day two and day eight coronavirus (COVID-19) PCR test regardless of their vaccination status.

Cabinet Secretary for Net Zero, Energy and Transport Michael Matheson said:

“International travel restrictions are necessary to protect the greater public health. While many restrictions have been significantly relaxed – largely thanks to the success of the Scottish Government’s COVID-19 vaccine roll out – we have always said it may be necessary to quickly impose fresh measures to protect public health in Scotland.”

The latest stories