The Best in the Business.. WES Awards finalists revealed

Carolyn Currie, CEO of Women’s Enterprise Scotland

THE MUCH anticipated shortlist for the Women’s Enterprise Scotland Awards 2023 has been unveiled.

Women led businesses from across Scotland have been chosen as finalists for the awards, with the judging panel facing the difficult task of determining just 51 finalists across 10 categories from an unprecedented number of entries.

Carolyn Currie, CEO of Women’s Enterprise Scotland, commented: “Our Awards recognise the considerable contribution women-led businesses make to Scotland’s economy. The cost of business crisis, coming so closely after the COVID-19 pandemic, has placed many businesses under more pressure than ever. It is vital that we put the achievements and the resilience of our women business leaders in the spotlight as they continue to innovate and push forward.”

Both the volume and the calibre of entries for the Awards were exceptionally high and the judging panel had a very challenging task to compile the list of finalists. We are now looking forward to a fantastic Awards evening next month, when we will come together to celebrate the diverse range and scale of women led businesses which are starting up and thriving across Scotland.”

Finalists at this year’s Awards include Glasgow based Little’s Chauffeur Drive, shortlisted in both the Resilient Business of the Year and Inspiring Leader categories and Perthshire based Molke, ethical manufacturers of body positive underwear, shortlisted in the Purpose Led Business of the Year category.

The winners of the Women’s Enterprise Scotland Awards, which is being supported by Royal Bank of Scotland, HFL Holistic Financial Leadership, Business Gateway, N4 Partners LLP, The University of Glasgow and Scottish Enterprise, will be announced at a glittering ceremony which takes place at the voco Grand Central Hotel in Glasgow on Thursday 26 October.

The keynote speaker at this year’s event is BAFTA Award winning television journalist Kirsty Wark. She commented; “I so admire WES. Community is everything for women setting out in business and some of the most creative successful enterprises in Scotland have women at the helm. I’m privileged to be involved in WES and I am looking forward to an exciting, affirming and inspiring event”

Women’s Enterprise Scotland (WES) was established in 2012 as a not-for-profit Community Interest Company (CIC) working to close the gender gap in enterprise participation. The WES vision is for Scotland to be world leading in its approach to supporting women business owners, enabling equal access to resources and opportunities as they develop successful and sustainable businesses.


Start-up Business of the Year, sponsored by Business Gateway

Bevan O’Daly                                       Bawn Textiles

Chloe Oswald                                       Chocolatia

Alisha Fuller-Armah                              Deer Manor Gourmet Mushrooms

Gemma Stuart                                     Gutsy Health Ltd

Rosie Davie                                         Rosie Davie Physiotherapy Ltd

Growth Business of the Year, sponsored by Royal Bank of Scotland

Julie Kennedy                                       Mocha Jaks

Nathalie Agnew                                    Muckle Media

Victoria Nicol                                        My Language Connection

Sophia Razif                                         The Power Within Training

Lynn Mann                                           Supernature Oils

Outstanding Business of the Year, sponsored by HFL (Holistic Financial Leadership)

Dr Yemeni Otaru                                  Dogaru

Emma Marley                                       Hickory

Nathalie Agnew                                    Muckle Media

Emma Macdonald                                 The Tartan Blanket Company

Inspiring Leader of the Year

Ann Johnson                                        Blaze Manufacturing Solutions Ltd

Claire Doris                                          Cumulus Oncology

Julie Begbie                                          Happy Side Hustle

Heather Matthews                                Little’s Chauffeur Drive

Sacha Woolham                                   The Strategy Collective

Funded Business of the Year, sponsored by N4 Partners LLP

Nicola Kennedy                                    Heero Technologies

Dr Eve Hanks                                       MI:RNA Ltd

Celia Davies                                         Omanos Analytics

Karen Robinson                                    Three Robins

Resilient Business of the Year

Danielle McKinnon                                Eat, Sleep, Ride CIC

Mette Bailie                                          Freja Designer Dressmaking

Heather Matthews                                Little’s Chauffeur Drive

Donna Cuthbertson                              Orkney Dance and Fitness Ltd

Rhiannon Louden                                 Small Fish Brand Co

Susie Black                                           Susie Black Fitness

Jenny Storey                                        The Academy

Embracing Technology Business

Lesley Landels                                      Love Scottish

Celia Davies                                          Omanos Analytics

Pooja Katara                                         SENSEcity

Anne Widdop                                        The Virtual Reality Hive Ltd

Caroline Laurenson                              TL Tech Ltd

Net-Zero Business of the Year, sponsored by Scottish Enterprise

Antoinette Fionda-Douglas                   Beira

Martha Bytof                                         Dear Green Coffee Roasters

Kirsty Maguire                                      Kirsty Maguire Architect Ltd

Jane Stewart                                        Topolytics Ltd

Kristen Hunter                                      Whisky Frames

Business to Watch , sponsored by  HFL (Holistic Financial Leadership)

Ishani Malhotra                                    Carcinotech

Kimberley Mackenzie                           GlykoGlen Ltd

Nicola Kennedy                                    Heero Technologies

Dr Eve Hanks                                       MI:RNA Ltd

Rosie Davie                                         Rose Davie Physiotherapy Ltd

Purpose-Led Business of the Year

Emma Sithole                                      BE United Trading Ltd

Kirsty Ritchie                                        Mind & Missions Ltd

Kirsty Lunn                                           Molke

Carolyn McNamara                               My Academic Family

Zara Janjua                                          Scottistani Productions

Sally Gouldstone                                  Seilich

The latest stories