Scotland’s EY Entrepreneur Of The Year finalists announced


Twenty-eight business leaders from 23 of Scotland’s promising, pioneering and accomplished businesses, have been announced as the finalists for the EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Awards – Scotland.

For the first time, the awards dinner will take place in Dundee in June. The City of Discovery was considered the ideal location given its long established entrepreneurial and innovative spirit.

From the 23 businesses, from the Hebrides to East Lothian, a number will be recognised at a ceremony at V&A Dundee, including the coveted title of ‘EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 Scotland: Overall Winner’.

Those recognised will progress to the UK level of the competition before the overall process culminates in winners from around the globe vying for the title ‘EY World Entrepreneur Of The Year’. Scotland’s independent judging panel will be chaired by Dundonian entrepreneur Andy Lothian CEO of The Insights Group. The 2019 judges joining Andy Lothian are:

  • Mike Sibson, BGF
  • Theresa Shearer, CEO of The Piper Group
  • Vicky Brock, CEO and Founder of Vistalworks 
  • Jim Pettigrew, CYBG Chairman 
  • Jane Wood, UK Nations and Ireland Director, BT

Mike Timmins, EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Scotland Partner, explains why the awards are being brought to Dundee:

“Dundee is going through an economic revival and has arguably become the city of re-discovery. The centre piece of the ambitious waterfront regeneration plan is undoubtedly V&A Dundee. It’s become a symbol of entrepreneurial spirit and breaking barriers, so we felt it would be the perfect backdrop for this year’s awards.

“I’m absolutely delighted by the interest in the programme this year which is the highest for a long time. Despite the wider risks in our local and global economy, Scotland’s business leaders have proven resilient, ambitious and determined – some would say they are unstoppable and long may we support that.

“It’s critical we maintain an environment in Scotland, and the wider UK, that supports entrepreneurial drive and spirit. Once again, we have an awesome and inspiring judging panel with tremendous collective experience and I look forward to seeing what Scottish talent rises to the top during EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019.”

Andy Lothian said:

“I’m delighted this year’s EY Entrepreneur Of The Year Scotland Awards will be held in Dundee, at our newly-opened V&A Dundee museum. The city is enjoying a renaissance that represents the very best entrepreneurial spirit. A great celebration in a great city!

“A successful entrepreneur has to have purpose and create a compelling vision. Resilience, communicating with impact, consistent values, developing and leading others, creativity and, above all, dogged determination are just some of the cocktail of ingredients that makes a great entrepreneur. There is no ‘one-size-fits-all’ answer – the combination of these elements is always unique.

“I’ll be looking for many of these elements in this year’s finalists. But most of all, I want to understand ‘why’ – why does this person do what they do and why does their business exist? A strong purpose goes a long way to enabling great entrepreneurs to keep going when others might not. It is the root of long-term success.”

EY Entrepreneur Of The Year 2019 finalists:

  • Lyndsay Menzies and Robin Richmond – 8 Million Stories Ltd
  • Alison Sellar – activpayroll
  • Michael Afshar – AMA Homes
  • Gordon McArthur – Beeks Financial Cloud
  • Tommy Cook – Calnex Solutions Limited
  • Richard Nicol – Commsworld Ltd
  • Gordon Dewar – Edinburgh Airport Limited
  • Ian Mills – Exceed
  • Susan Aktemel – Homes for Good Investments Limited
  • Paul Hutchinson – Hutchinson Networks Ltd
  • Anderson Bakewell, Ron MacEachran and Simon Erlanger – Isle of Harris Distillers Ltd
  • Thomas O’Hara – Kick ICT Group Limited
  • Claire Henderson and Michael Branney – Oh Polly Ltd
  • Poonam Gupta – PG Paper Company Ltd
  • Andrew Pickett and Jude Cook – ShareIn
  • Anthony Quinn – Silver Cloud Ltd.
  • Alexander Adam – Springfield Properties Plc
  • Tony Stone – Stoats Porridge Bars Ltd
  • Andrew Bissell – Sunamp Ltd
  • Craig Anderson – The Scottish Salmon Company
  • Craig Nicol – Thorntons Law LLP
  • Jean-Christophe Granier – Wilkie Technical Textiles (Holding Company) Limited
  • Scott Coates – Wireless Infrastructure Group

The latest stories