Finalists announced for tenth Young Professionals Green Energy Awards

Claire Mack, Chief Executive of Scottish Renewables

SCOTTISH Renewables has announced more than 30 finalists for this year’s Young Professionals Green Energy Awards.

The shortlist recognises the rising stars in Scotland’s renewable energy industry who have achieved beyond all expectations, who are pioneering new ideas and have the drive and ambition to power Scotland’s future energy system. 

This year’s finalists include:

  • Tim Brown, a Senior Cable Engineer at ScottishPower Renewables, has carried out transformational work in bringing together academic rigour and technical expertise to develop new statistical tools that have vastly improved cable design and windfarm cable layouts at ScottishPower Renewables.
  • Kirsty MacAulay, Stakeholder Engagement Manager at Thistle Wind Partners (TWP). Kirsty has played a leading role in TWP’s communications campaign in Caithness to publicise the Ayre Offshore Wind Farm and she has started conversations with local people about a proposed grid connection in the region.
  • Azeez Ajibola, a Substation Project Engineer at SSEN Transmission, has developed technical guidance to assist overhead line engineers with mitigating noise issues in future projects early in the development phase.
  • Sarah Howie, Surveyor at Gerald Eve LLP, is experienced in the valuation of energy assets for rating purposes, and providing advice on investment, leasing and strategic consultancy work for energy and infrastructure projects including wind farms, battery storage and hydro.

The Young Professionals Green Energy Awards, a black-tie event launched in 2015 to showcase the range of bright and innovative talent in the sector, will be held in the Radisson Blu Hotel, Glasgow, on April 18.

Claire Mack, Chief Executive of Scottish Renewables, said:

“The Young Professionals Green Energy Awards are now in their tenth year and the judging panel has once again been blown away by the standard of nominations submitted for these awards.

“It is always so inspiring to see the skill and expertise which exists among the young professionals working in our industry and Scottish Renewables is proud to be recognising those who are pioneering new ideas and shaping the future of Scotland’s net-zero energy system.

“The finalists should be extremely proud of their achievements over the last year and I look forward to meeting them all at this year’s awards and hear about how they plan to develop their careers in the renewable energy industry.”

Winners of the Young Professional Green Energy Awards will also be put forward for the Young and Inspiring Award at The Scottish Green Energy Awards later this year.

The full list of finalists is available below:

Academic Award, sponsored by ETP

  • Tim Brown, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Megan Ellis, SSEN Transmission
  • Yabin Liu, The University of Edinburgh
  • Karthik Thakur, University of Aberdeen

Analyst Award, sponsored by Ocean Winds

  • Stephen Crawshaw, Muirhall Energy
  • Lex Elliott, Katrick Technologies
  • Frances Kelsall, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Jon Richardson, K2 Management

Culture Change Award, sponsored by BlueFloat Energy | Renantis Partnership

  • Kate Brown, Statkraft
  • Kirsty MacAulay, Thistle Wind Partners
  • Lynsey Shovlin, Ocean Winds

Engineer Award, sponsored by ESB

  • Matt Hughes, Katrick Technologies
  • Emma McGregor, Tony Gee and Partners LLP
  • James Myers, SSE Renewables
  • Emma Webster, SSE Renewables

Innovator Award, sponsored by Muirhall Energy and WWS Renewables

  • Azeez Ajibola, SSEN Transmission
  • Steven King, ECO Hire
  • Romane Moulin, K2 Management
  • Roberto Tuda, Waves Group

Personal Improvement Award

  • Lauren Anderson, Shetland Aerogenerators
  • Gary Fleming, Renewco Power
  • Giulia Licocci, Ocean Winds
  • Natalie Shaw, Locogen

Professional Service Award, sponsored by SLR

  • Chris Del Valle, ORE Catapult
  • Sarah Howie, Gerald Eve LLP
  • Hannah Lane, ASH
  • Dom Laurens, Arup

Project Development Award

  • Kenna Fisher, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Niall Hunter, Wind2
  • Leanne Meldrum, RWE
  • Rachel O’Donnell, Fred. Olsen Renewables
  • Kieran Savage, SP Energy Networks

Judges Award

  • Tim Brown, ScottishPower Renewables
  • Steven King, ECO Hire
  • Hannah Lane, ASH
  • Natalie Shaw, Locogen

The latest stories