Enpro Scoops Company of the Year at Subsea Awards

Neil Gordon, Chief Executive at Subsea UK

ENPRO Subsea was crowned subsea company of the year and Dr Tony Trapp MBE was recognised for his outstanding contribution to the industry at Subsea UK’s annual awards last night (Wednesday 12th February).

The awards celebrate the achievements of companies and individuals in the UK subsea industry during Subsea Expo – Europe’s largest subsea focused exhibition and conference.

The gala dinner, organised by Subsea UK and sponsored by Boskalis, Simmons Energy, SMD, the Oil & Gas Authority (OGA) and Viper Innovations, took place at P&J Live in Aberdeen with over 550 people from the subsea industry in attendance.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK hosted the ceremony with guest speaker Olympic medallist and World, European and Commonwealth athletics champion, Kriss Akabusi.

Enpro Subsea won the fiercely contested Company of the Year award, which was sponsored by the OGA. Formed in 2011, Enpro maximises the ultimate recovery from subsea wells by enabling production enhancing technologies on standard hardware, while structurally reducing field development costs and delivering first oil faster.

Dr Tony Trapp, executive chairman of Osbit Limited, based in Northumberland, was honoured for his contribution to industry. Dr Trapp has a successful entrepreneurial track record. He co-founded SMD in the 1970s, launched IHC Engineering Business in the 1990s and founded Osbit in 2010 with two colleagues. Osbit designs and builds machinery to support a range of subsea, offshore wind, and oil and gas operations and last year announced significant growth in sales, profit and employee numbers.

ROVCO received the Innovation & Technology award, which was sponsored by Simmons Energy. Rovco is a global subsea services provider, employing leading R&D scientists to work alongside offshore teams to develop innovative technology to meet subsea challenges.

The Young Emerging Talent award, sponsored by SMD, was awarded to Etteke Roebroeks, global program manager remote operations of Fugro GB (North) Limited. Ms Roebroeks impressed the judges with her ambition, drive and leadership qualities.

KW Designed Solutions Limited was named Best Small Company, while the Innovation for Safety award went to TechnipFMC.

Neil Gordon, chief executive of Subsea UK commented: “The standard of entries for this year’s awards underlines the depth of leadership, talent, innovation and technology within the country’s subsea industry. We can be rightfully proud of how our industry has emerged from the challenges of recent years, and we can enter a new decade with renewed optimism about the opportunities for further diversification into and collaboration with alternative sectors and markets.

“With a continued and accelerated focus on achieving net-zero, the ingenuity of the subsea eco-system places us at the forefront of the energy transition.”

The latest stories